A Word in Your Ear

Daily Prompt
Dictionary, Shmictionary

Time to confess: tell us about a time when you used a word whose meaning you didn’t actually know (or were very wrong about, in retrospect).

I can just about  honestly say I have never unintentionally misused a word as an adult. I once used the word ‘Ubiquitous’ without really knowing what it meant in a note on the work rota. I used it in reply to Mouse asking that she needed someone to cover her shift as she had a doctor’s appointment, so I replied “don’t worry, the ubiquitous Sandman will cover it.” I had feeling it meant something like recurring so it seemed appropriate; the word had lodged in my head after  having recently watched a rather surreal episode of Danger Man called “The Ubiquitous Mr. Lovegrove.”

However when I was about 8 I did use a word whose definition I’d been told was wrong!  I’d heard my father come home and declare he was “feeling shagged out”. Being an inquisitive child I enquired the meaning and I was informed “it means I’m run down and tired.” “So it’s another word for running.” I replied and Dad quickly dismissed it with yeah, no doubt relieved I wasn’t asking too many questions. Probably was the next day, my school friend Robert and I decided to run home after school, so when I arrived home I was virtually out of breath. Mum answered the door and asked “why are you out if breath?” And my reply? “Well me and Robert were shagging on the way home from school.” !?! Ah, the age of innocence.

One thought on “A Word in Your Ear

  1. Pingback: Pardon My French | sandmanjazz

Leave a Reply

