A Wiggly Line Between Two Points

Circuitous Paths  

A stranger knocks on your door, asking for directions from your home to the closest gas station (or café, or library. Your pick!) Instead of the fastest and shortest route, give him/her the one involving the most fun detours

Early this morning, someone knocked upon my door. I answered and said “hello Satan is it time to go?”  The stranger looked at me blankly, evidently the works of Robert Johnson had passed her by. “I’m a bit lost could you direct me to Sid’s Cafe?” She asked. I studied the lady and her demeanour indicated this was a woman of inquisitive nature. So I told to walk down the bridle path and take a right and continue until she reached the lake and then go left through the woods. After that she’d be in the village and Sid’s Cafe was on the left. I advised her to keep her camera phone handy and bid her on her way with a wry smile. Later on I was opening up the cafe and who should be my first customer but the young lady. Her trousers were mud splashed but her cheerful smile indicated she enjoyed her walk. “Was that really the shortest route?” She asked. “No,” I answered. “It is the best. After all you would have missed the Victorian mine workings, the spooky tree and the rock formation in the lake.” She smiled, “A straghit line is never interesting she agreed.”  

Leave a Reply

