The Caretaker

Fourth Wall

You get to spend a day inside your favourite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.

I hate being the caretaker for Charles. How am I supposed to keep this house up to scratch if he hasn’t evening finished building the damn thing? Look at him sitting up there on his own, miserable sod. I don’t think I’ve ever seen him entertain anyone, least not since his wife left him. Here is living in a half built giant house he is all alone in. I thought hermits were supposed to live in small remote places, not some ridicules over the top stately pleasure dome. Who does he think he is? Mighty Khubla Khan? Well, I guess he goes have three of the same letters in his surname.

Oh well, I better get on with sorting the junk of his childhood out. I wonder why he wants all this stuff bought back, he doesn’t strike me as the sentimental type. From what Leland told me, his mother carted him off to boarding school or something when he was quite young so I can’t see any rigorous attachments there.

My god that is a lot of stuff, I wonder where he wants it to go. I’d better go ask him, why does he have to stay in the furthest part of the house? I know I’m just a caretaker it isn’t my place to grumble, since working for Charles I’m certainly fitter. Tsh, bloody mirrors. He is such an egotist wanting to have infinite reflections of himself outside his quarters. There he is, sitting in his chair staring into that snow globe again, he’s been worryingly attached to that snow globe ever since his wife left him… I wonder what the significance is.
“Excuse me Charles, I-”
“Rosebud”
Oh great now he’s dropped the bloody thing, yay more tidying to do.
“Charles, Charles….”
Oh dear, I’m going to need a new job.

One thought on “The Caretaker

  1. Reblogged this on sandmanjazz and commented:

    In case you didn’t twig…. the film is Citizen Kane. It may be a standard film school/film critic answer to the favourite film question, but I actually love the film and have done since I was about 9. Believe me, at 9 I had no idea of the films status

    Like

Leave a Reply

