The Immortality Engine

Finite Creatures

At what age did you realize you were not immortal? How did you react to that discovery?

  I genuinely cannot recall any time when I didn’t understand the idea that I would die, but I do recall that for a long time I believed that all TV programs were fictional.  My wake up call to this would have been the Hillsborough incident,  which was the darkest day in English Football history.  I won’t go into details about Hillsborough as a quick online search will give the details better then I can, but I can recall my Granddad explaining to me this was real. All of a sudden the world seemed a lot more of a harsh mistress.

   But in this day and age maybe immortal has a new meaning though. Thanks to the advent of recorded media whether it be film, wire, video or tape we are in a position to be regularly entertaibed by the dead. Is recorded media the secret to immortality?

Leave a Reply

