Word of Mouth

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Tight Corner.”

Have you ever managed to paint yourself into the proverbial corner because of your words? What did you do while waiting for them “to dry”?

Only on two occasions have I got myself into that situations. Once due to a mis-stressed turn of phrase in which in response to “You must be patient with me” and due to being rather tired after a long day I replied “I’m being patient” but managed to say in the wrong tone causing my dearly beloved to hide on the bathroom and pretty much put the writing on the wall for our relationship. Rather then let it fizzle out and what not (obviously there were other issues) I thought it best for us to take a break. In retrospect I should have grinned and beared it and carried on.

The other time was again through misinterpreted words. I made an online reference to  my having psoriasis and someone at my work place decided I was slagging the business off and decided to tell the AM who rather than give me a chance to explain made my spineless boss give me an ultimatum if resign or be sacked. Hmm, I took resignation when I should have seen a solicitor about constructive dismissal and got compensation.

Leave a Reply

