Waiting in the Wings

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Tables Turned.”

Are as comfortable in front of a camera as behind one? Being written about, as well as writing?

Interesting question. Anyone who has seen my Facebook will probably note that a lot of my photos I don’t feature in. This isn’t because of camera shyness but pretty much down to it simply being that I am taking the photos and often I wander upon my path solo and as such I am reliant on others to take photos of me. Though you could think that I was camera shy from my Facebook Profile as currently my profile picture is of Killer Bob from Twin Peaks and the cover is a close up of a very dear friend’s amazing eyes. I am quite happy to have my photo taken and have no real qualms about performing in public. In fact a few will probably know that I have no qualms about being seen and photographed. Ok some people my misuse a photo but that is the way of the world and in this digital age occasionally the wrong photo might get uploaded to social media forums such as Twitter (I’m guilty as charged there).

Writing I’m not so fussed about either as that can be looked at analysed and bought to account if untruthful and derogatory, if there is one adage I don’t like it is idle gossip. The whole Chinese Whispers mentality of gossip has a lot to account for as the truth, context or origin of what was said is removed and everyone adds their own particular twist.More often than not this is bad and even if you do sort it out… ultimately mud sticks. It takes a long time for trust to be built, but to damaged and taint that trust is surprisingly easy it seems…   Perhaps that is why at my funeral I want one of the songs played to be Sammy Davis Jr singing “Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone.”

On the whole I prefer mostly behind the camera and waiting in the wings to be the supporting artist that completes the whole. After all it is the work behind the scenes which really make something work.

Leave a Reply

