Behind-the-scenes

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Snapshot Stories.”

Open the first photo album you can find — real or virtual, your call — and stop at the first picture of yourself you see there . Tell us the story of that photo.

Well as it is the first photo I came across was a backstage photo from a revisit of a play I did called called ‘Murder in the Manor”.

I revisited my previous role which was updated slightly in characterisation to reflect I was nine years older than in the original.  The photo was taken back stage after my final scene on stage in which my character  meets an untimely demise; namely strangled with a dressing gown cord. There is only one slight problem with the photo though… The final scene involved my character who was a jack-the-lad type on his way to get his end away and as such undresses for the occasion and the photo reflects that I have literally got back off set,  which is the reason the mentioned photo is not in the post.

Now,  AmDram was something I did pretty much in my Uni days as I liked the idea of performing and had had ambitions of being an actor.  As time moved on though,  I became much more interested in the behind the scenes aspect and took up a greater interest in writing. The play in question was after I decided I was more interested in being a backroom boy,  but I did feel for a while that getting the feel of various roles would help shape the sort of things I’d write. So if there was an element I was uncomfortable performing,  I would think twice about including a similar element in a performance piece.

Leave a Reply

