FWWM

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Futures Past.”

“Through the darkness of future’s past, the magician longs to see. One chants out between two worlds… “Fire… walk with me.” 

   When I was a child what did I want to be? Well as an infant like most small boys I was interested by the building site across the road and the diggers on there, so I wanted to be a builder, more specifically a driver of a JCB or some such. I had quite a toy collection to that extent and as I grew a little older I think I wanted to be a train driver… again seemingly following a social cultural convention for small boys.

In my teens I wanted to be an actor and did join some youth theatre groups up until about the age of 14 when it came to GCSE choices and I opted to study Geography instead of Drama. My logic for this was to have a series of academic subjects under my belt as there were plenty of theatre and Amateur dramatic groups I could attend outside of school. After I left secondary school and went upon my A Levels I chose Media Studies as an option as I felt that this would give me an insight on the other side of the art, I followed this aspect up to University level.  It was while at University I got back on the boards for a little bit and performed in a number of plays mostly smaller parts or part of the chorus line but it was something. I had a few more substantial roles over the course of the year but I never really pushed it…

Instead I went on to pursue a career in the pub trade, which I have been in now virtually all my working life. Next stage in that job? It’d be to have my own place to my design, but I feel that may be a long time coming.

In the mean time I am trying to pursue a career in writing which although not a regular source of income, could certainly be a fun one and a good secondary income.

3 thoughts on “FWWM

  1. Pingback: Older, and dafter too! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

