I Let A Song Go Out of My Heart

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Always Something There to Remind Me.”

A song comes on the radio and instantly, you’re transported to a different time and place. Which song(s) bring back memories for you and why? Be sure to mention the song, and describe the memory it evokes.

Well it is highly unlikely any of the songs which I hold so dearly will ever casually come on the main radio stations we have here in Blighty,  so I shall take a different approach to this topic. As, until recently,  I was a frequent attendee of my local Jazz club at the Harp and while there was a rotation of bands upon the stand it was not unusual for various songs to be performed and one of them was a lovely number called Louisiana Fairytale, a number covered by many artists including Fats Waller. It has been performed many times at the Harp at variable degrees of success,  the less said about Rod Chamber’s Louisiana Killjoys the better,  but the first time I heard it performed upon stage was by the Wabash Jazzmen with Reg Fury on Trombone. I particularly remember this because it was one of two occasions that I bought a young lady with me to the club. What makes this occasion sit in my memory is that the young lady used to play Trombone in school band and she was quite taken by Reg Fury.  Louisiana Fairytale was the last song we listen too before I took her home..   Of course the young ladies have come and gone,  but this tune reminds me of that one magical happy night all those years ago.

4 thoughts on “I Let A Song Go Out of My Heart

Leave a Reply

