Mr Flibil Says…

Inside the Bubble

A contagious disease requires you to be put into quarantine for a whole month (don’t worry, you get well by the time you’re free to go!). How would you spend your time in isolation?

Ah now this prompt has given me a brace of ideas but one will require more time and thought then I usually allow for my Daily Prompt activity.

Quarantine, a term which brings to my mind a penguin puppet called Mr. Flibil, a man in a red and white gingham dress and army boots and a sign reading MOST GROSS DANGER. Why the pink-and-purple blazes would you be thinking of that? I hear most of asking. The answer is simple: they all are ingredients to the highlight episode of the fifth season of UK sitcom Red Dwarf which, as you probably guessed, is titled Quarantine. The plot actually uses very little of the idea of putting three of our hero’s together for six weeks in a single room which would now doubt be my downfall in that scenario. I need my personal space for me too while away the time and live in my space.

So a month in Quarantine alone would no doubt do me good. What would I do? I would read a lot more,  a trait which happens on holiday, probably spend more time writing whether it be here or with old fashioned pen & ink and watch a lot of films… and probably write about them. When not engaging in word related activities or watching the goggle box, I would spend time getting my musical chops back on my horns and bass. The curse of my trade being when I finish work 80% of the time it is the wee small hours and despite the irony, neighbours aren’t particularly pleased when you play the Wee Small Hours of the Morning during those hours.

My other idea… well keep an eye out.

One thought on “Mr Flibil Says…

Leave a Reply

