Old Father Time

Do you ever find yourself doing something your parents used to do when you were a kid, despite the fact you hated it back then?

My former work colleague Ruth once said I was such an old man when I first started working at the Horseshoes back in 2005, this is a sentiment which has been echoed by good friend Neil who jokes I am secretly Adam Adamant, purely based on my rather old school turn of phrase, knowledge of black and white television and my historic interest in music…. well that and the fact I go around fighting diabolical masterminds, murderous WI groups and cigar chomping female crime lords.

In all honesty I’ve always been a bit like my dad in terms of sense of humour, turn of phrase and some of my hobbies. So if anything I am slowly becoming a thirty something Shropshire version of Norman Clegg; the only character to have been in every episode of the long running sitcom Last of the Summer Wine  (and one of the only two to be in every series). I have started taking up long bouts of whimsical cynicism coupled with a spirit of laid back adventure and at times a slightly cautious approach to life.

4 thoughts on “Old Father Time

Leave a Reply

