Days Like Crazy Paving

Life is a series of beginnings and endings. We leave one job to start another; we quit cities, countries, or continents for a fresh start; we leave lovers and begin new relationships. What was the last thing you contemplated leaving? What were the pros and cons? Have you made up your mind? What will you choose?

When it comes to leaving and change I am very much the Doctor, many people come and go and I have many faces throughout my career. I would say my stint at the Horseshoes were my Tom Baker days: Considered to be the best and certainly the longest serving stint. The parallel goes quite well as my my early days at the Shoe were when it was a popular food venue for popular food but ultimately not much substance from the surface dressing, my Hinchcliff year. When D and D came there was more fun in the air and arguably it was the most social period of the place and I was the bar legend,so my Graham Williams era. Then my last year, a cheap and clinical effort to return to the basic approach but removing the sparkle and everything looking cheap despite the effort of the Chef and myself to breath life into the place. My JNT season, and like Tom I was worn down, getting irritable and Ill. Like Tom I left on a whimper not a bang…

Then I was reborn at the Dartmouth Arms where to follow the analogy I was Peter Davison. Full of fun and energy and smuggling jokes into a serious tone. Like Davison, I was perhaps overlooked by people and friends were still wanting the old D & D version of me. Then as I move to the Kynn and with my colourful array of funky ties, love of verbal prose, expanding waistline and more brash and tough personality I have become Colin Baker. No doubt my next place will be my McCoy years….

Leave a Reply

