Night on the Town

Let’s imagine it’s Halloween, and you just ran out of candy. If the neighborhood kids (or anyone else, really) were to truly scare you, what trick would they have to subject you to?

Well, I did this Prompt this time last year so you can read that here. I haven’t changed my mind so…

…now for something completely different.

The best Halloween I had was a few years ago when I was just starting to date Mary and through connections she had from working for English Heritage she’d wangled us a few tickets for the Halloween gig at Blist’s Hill Victorian Town. This was a treat for me as I have always had a thing for Victoriana/Edwardiana and Steampunk. We both dressed up, her as a sort of Medieval Witch and myself being a little more period, went as Jack the Ripper. The old shops and stalls were done up with cobweb and coloured light effects to give a spookier air to the place. The staff were made up into various ghosts and ghoulish and there were a variety of period parlour games to keep the kids amused.

FB_IMG_1446313446506

FB_IMG_1446313423535

FB_IMG_1446313410068

One of the highlights of the evening was the firework display over the canal set to a recording of “Dry Bones”. Afterwards we went to the nearby All Nations Homebrew Pub and not a single eyebrow was raised at our costumes. Afterwards we went back to my place a cup of tea and a small bite to eat. Alas since the departure of Mary, Halloween has become an affair I usually end up working through.

Leave a Reply

