Hands on Experience

Textures are everywhere: The rough edges of a stone wall. The smooth innocence of a baby’s cheek. The sense of touch brings back memories for us. What texture is particularly evocative to you?

 

Well without venturing into the territory of erotica I can’t really think of a particular texture that brings back memories. I prefer the feel of a tight collar around my neck as I find it helps stop me keeping my head down. I prefer plain flat wallpaper but I like to have my walls filled with items to touch and run my fingers across. This is partially due to an episode of the Avengers called “Second Sight” which involves a blind man using corneal grafting as a cover for diamond smuggling and most of the episode takes place in his home. The set is wonderful as it clearly is designed with the idea of a man with money adapting his home to suit his disability and is full of edges he uses to “see with his hands” around the home. I thought as I am incredibly short sighted that is a sensible move to make.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

