This Sporting Life

What is your favorite physical activity, either specifically for exercise purposes or just for fun? What do you like the most about it? What’s one new sport or activity you’d like to get into but haven’t yet?
I was never a particularly sporty person though I always enjoyed playing Tennis and Cricket. Personally I think the UK Physical Education remit is wrong and the primary focus should be on physical fitness with team sports a secondary and optional aspect. By all means have a few taster lessons, particularly with team games you probably wouldn’t end up playing on the street or in muddy playing fields. Not everyone is a sporty person and ultimately get caught in the side lines and end up doing nothing and thus beat the point of a PE lesson. Also you end up lumbering those who are really into teams sports with deadwood which is unfortunate for both parties.
I think one summer at school we did Volleyball as opposed to Hockey which led me cracking a volleyball joke I heard on I’m Sorry I Haven’t A Clue and understood at far too early an age.

I think I enjoyed Tennis because it was more personal one on one work and ultimately you could just keep to your mates. Cricket was perhaps the only real team sport I enjoy, though I didn’t particularly enjoy having to wear a box… well until I was hit by the ball. It may be uncomfortable but you ain’t half thankful for it in the long run.

Leave a Reply

