Walk on By

Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

I haven’t needed to  quit anything permanently at least habit wise, I’ve taken breaks from things such as booze, sugary foods etc but on the whole I have not been in a situation where I have needed to kick a habit.

When I do I pretty much go cold turkey as it is by far the easiest method. I don’t find weening myself off works for me, it is very easy to go oh I’ll have another once you get the taste. I find it easy as falling off a log going Cold Turkey. The secret is not to change your routine too much, go to the pub but have tea/coffee instead or Alcohol-free beer. I imagine that completely extraditing yourself would make it unnecessarily difficult.

A few years ago I went on a brewery trip while taking some tablets and while it was a booze for everyone else I was merrily drink tea from a Thermos.

 

Leave a Reply

