That Melody Haunts My Reverie

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Turn that line into the title of your post.

I connect with so many, most of which are drawn from the Great American songbook of yesteryear, songs that have an air of poetry and experience about them.

 

Hoagy Carmichael’s classic song Stardust has always been a favourite of mine with its hauntingly beautiful lyrics pretty much being a commentary on my love life.

 

Another one which rings with me is “September Song”, particularly as I am now much nearer to forty then twenty. So I may not be in my autumn years it is could be said I have passed springtime and am currently in my summer years, but my summer days are proving to be far from “Hazy Lazy Days” and the importance of no longer having time for the waiting game is growing ever present.

And since the demise of  Jazz Club 90 on a Tuesday and the loss of Mary and Amy, Duke Ellington’s “Don’t Get Around Much Anymore” is appropriate.

 

One thought on “That Melody Haunts My Reverie

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 9 – “Every Dawn You’re Surprising” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

