Answer back

When was the last time your walked away from a discussion, only to think of The Perfect Comeback hours later? Recreate the scene for us, and use your winning line.

I am pretty good thinking on my feet so it is rare I don’t have the perfect comeback at the time. If I don’t it is unlikely I ever will think of it myself, though occasionally pick one up from other conversations or characters on the goggle box.

Some of my favourites:

“You are a classic example of the inverse ratio of the size of the mouth and the size of the brain.”

“For such a gatherer of facts here is an important one: You sir/madam are a nitwit.”

Or as I wrote in a review of the Central City Jazzmen : “I enjoyed the gig, particularly that there is nothing in your act which will bring 10 pin bowling into disrepute.”

Leave a Reply

