Canyon Encounter

Of all Gin Joints, of all the places, in all the world you had to walk into a lamp post!

When I was a plucky 18 year old studying Geology and Environmental Sciences for A Level the opportunity to visit the National Parks of Northwest America arose and I took the offer. The tour included a trip around LA, visiting the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon, Zion National Park, Arches National Park, the Hoover Dam and Las Vegas and as such involved a huge amount of driving. It was when visiting the Grand Canyon that an extraordinary thing happen, after taking photos for various fellow students I took a few moments to take in the view when I feel a tap upon my shoulder. I assumed it was someone going to ask me to move on so they could take a photo, so I turned around was greeted with “What the bloody hell are you doing here?”, it was my former next door neighbour who had moved a few months before the trip. “I’m on holiday, what are you doing here?” was my reply, to which the answer was of course, the same. He was just on the final leg of his journey whereas we were just starting out and it was just one of those weird coincidences.

Leave a Reply

