Where’s a Slinky When You Need One

The fact that we talk of a highway to hell and a stairway to heaven says a lot about the expected traffic.

Off the top of my head I can think of only three songs about stairs:

Stairway to Heaven- Led Zeppelin

Stairway to the Stars-countless artists including Glenn Miller, Dexter Gordon, George Shearing and John Coltrane.

Halfway  up the Stairs- by Robin the Frog (Cousin of Kermit) off the Muppet Show.

In Cuba there is a stairway up a hillside which is supposed to represent the road to a successful marriage, being a man of many challenges I declared challenge accepted and decided to climb the stairs. Oh boy it was a bad move, there were 425 steps in groups of 25 at a time and they were steep, and I mean steep. I pushed myself onward despite the temperature being around 38 degrees Celsius and my gammy knee being quite gammy at around the 250 mark. I mean it, of course but believe me I was incredibly shagged out by the time I reached the top, to the point I declined a photo being taken until I looked a bit more human. I bet the drink stand at the top is a lucrative gold mine as all us silly tourists attempt the steps. Would I do it again? Hell yeah! Of course the second time around I would make sure I bought a bottle of water for the ascent…

 

Believe me, I don’t think the stairway to heaven is going to a problem for me.

 

One thought on “Where’s a Slinky When You Need One

  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 30 – “The Ending Changes Everything” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

