Oh I do Like to be besides the Seaside

I’m more of a pool guy rather then a beach boy when it comes to holiday swimming.

FB_IMG_1462464949728

That is me on the beach in Cuba being incredibly British drinking a pint of dark Mild from a dimpled handle glass while wearing a flat cap, that may sound a tad odd, but I was after the jutaxposition of the beauty of the Caribbean against the piss and vinegar of the old school working man’s ale. It was a rather windy day I recall and a German couple were kind enough to take the photo as I was travelling solo and thus had no one to take photos of myself.

I was staying in the Blau Costa Verde hotel on Play Pasquela which is in the Holguin province of the island and is a bit of a  more isolated and rural area meaning I was getting some much needed peace and quiet.

FB_IMG_1462464978328

Here is the beach by the Market town of Guadalvaca, this was my second visit to the town as I had stayed in a hotel there a few years previously. It was a little busier, but not in the  way you might think a UK seaside market town would be. This was taken lounging from a beach bar with a fellow traveller called Dave, after we had been on a tour of the province and a few small villages. We only had a half hour  stopover so we literally a beer each and an ice cream, I believe the beer was Bucanninro.

FB_IMG_1462465166813

 

This goes back nearly eight years to a holiday to the Isle of Margarita in December 2008, the only time to date I have been able to take a December based Holiday. This particular snap was taken when we did a day trip to the Isle of Cubagua which was pretty much a  small atole really, but had a reputation for excellent mud baths, this was a fun lazy day and it was nice to have some downtime being lazy bones sleeping in the sun.

FB_IMG_1462465190840

And here we are even further back in 2007 on my first visit to Margarita, this photo was taken by Pete I think and was on a small rocky outcrop of the beach outside the hotel. Looking back at it now I can’t help but notice how skinny I was back then and I’m quite clearly attempting to  recreate Jaco Pastorius’ pose on the inlay to his only Columbia album.

One thought on “Oh I do Like to be besides the Seaside

Leave a Reply

