The Firestarter

“It won’t be easy without paper,” mused Simmonite. “I tried to do it behind a wall once, I crouched down real low but all I could produce were a little puff of smoke. Damn draughty it was.”

“Yes I am sure it was a struggle for you, you tatty little herbet, ” growled Martin as he tied the gathered bunches of kindling together. “You forget I was posted abroad while I was in service. These survival skills were drummed into us in basic training.”

“Far be it from to rain on your parade but weren’t you in service in the Navy in the galley?” Liz, the third person  present in the group, asked sweetly.

“Eee, I bet it was right basic training.” Laughed Simmonite, “did they expect you to make beans on toast without a toaster or a pan.”

“Mock if you must-”

“Ooh I must.”

“-but I was a serving Naval officer and I had to be trained in basic skills which also included  cooking incase of emergency.” Snapped Martin not happy at having his military standing knocked by a scruffy man who somehow seemed to have come to his status by being a cunning little tea-leaf. “Now will you get down and blown those embers.”

Simmonite tutted and lay himself down on the forest floor. “Ey up shagbasket, why is it I have to get down in the dirt. Why not her ladyship?”

“Simple Simmonite,” answered Liz. “An out fit like yours was made for rolling around on muddy floors.”

“Not to mention you deciding to spy on her while she bathed this morning, I wouldn’t put it past you to spend your time lusting over her backside rather then tending to stoking the fire,” added Martin.

“I told  her that were a misunderstanding, I thought she was going all Virginia Woolf,” snapped Simmonite. “I resent also that just because I may not dress like a pansy it doesn’t mean I  a common tramp, I am sure her ladyship has spent much time on her knees.”

“You have such a way with words dear boy,” answered Liz. She smile as the kindling began to catch.  “Ok Martin I am going to check the traps, see Simmonite keeps the fire going.”

“Yes ma’am, I’ll get some water and get the veg we collected.”

“Good,” smiled Liz and walked out into the forest.

Certain she was far enough out of ear shot, Liz dived into her trousers and produced a small box. She opened it up and produced a small roll of paper from with in.

THIS IS AN UNUSUAL SET UP FOR AN ASSIGNMENT I KNOW, BUT I NEED YOU TO LAY THE LAND OUT BEFORE OUR ARRIVAL. NEITHER YOURSELF OR MARTIN ARE TO RISK CAPTURE, SHOULD YOU FIND YOURSELVES IN SUCH A SITUATION TAKE THE PILLS. SIMMONITE WILL PROBABLY CRACK UNDER PRESSURE IF CAUGHT, DON’T WORRY WE CAN USE THAT TO OUR ADVANTAGE

ONE-TEN

 

Leave a Reply

