The Sunshine Blogger Award

sunshine

A big thank you to the Mad Movie Ranter for this nomination, you can check out his excellent film review blog here https://youtheman77.wordpress.com/about/, it’s nice to know there are people out in the blog sphere who think of the sentimental Sandman.

WHAT ARE THE RULES?!

  • Post the award on your blog
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • Answer the 11 questions they set you
  • Pick another 11 bloggers (and let them know they are nominated!)
  • Give them 11 questions

 

Ok so without further ado, here I go with questions set to me

  1. What’s your favourite movie?   Oh I see, the hard ones first eh? Well my usual answer feels like an answer from a Film Studies book (Citizen Kane) so I am going to bend the question a little and I am going to put forward my favourite film by my favourite director who is, of course, Alfred Hitchcock. My favourite film of his is Shadow of a Doubt (1943). It stars Teresa Wright and Joseph Cotton and is considered by many to Hitchcock’s personal film as his Mother was ill while it was being made and Hitch was unable to visit and as such lots of little things from Hitchcock’s childhood (which he was always very secretive about) crop up in the movie eg. the young son reads Ivanhoe- a book Hitch knew word for word as a child and the bike accident Uncle Charlie had as a child happened to Hitchcock. I think the film’s strong point is the way it shows the family and family life in a much more realistic way to movies of the time. Here people talk over one another, dialogue overlaps and there is a lot of cheeky banter, not to mention the scenes where two detectives posing as magazine journalists get put in there place by the mother on how to bake a cake.  Of course we get the Hitchcock tropes of duality of course with young Charlie and Uncle Charlie being opposite sides of a coin and some excellent photography.
  2. Your least favourite movie? That is a toss up between The Blood Beast Terror (1968) which stars Peter Cushing and Robert Flemyng, both of whom hated it. The film is about a woman who turns into a giant man-eating Deathshead Moth- no really. It is absolutely terrible but at least it has Peter Cushing whereas Hansel & Gretel: Witch-Hunters (2013) is terrible on every level. Atrocious acting and edited at such a pace it tires you out which is no doubt to try and mask the paper thin plot, clearly an attempt to cash in on shows like Grimm and Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I think I will nominate the second there as at least Blood Beast Terror has Peter Cushing in it.
  3. Are there any movies you’ve lied about seeing to your friends just to get them off your case? No I don’t think so.
  4. Are there any movies you’ve seen that you won’t tell your friends? (Come on, sharing time) Tell me your guilty pleasure! I don’t see why I wouldn’t tell anyone what films I have enjoyed whether it be in the proper way or in a so-bad-it-is-good way.
  5. Favourite book?  Another hard one, I’ll got for HG Wells’ seminal masterpiece The Time Machine.
  6. Is there a book/TV show/musical that you would like to see adapted to the big screen? If so, what and why? I would like to see a movie series based on George Mann’s Newbury & Hobbes series as the books could be very easily adapted to the screen with minimal rewrites, though I imagine one or two would have the gore toned down a bit, also his Ghost series but the problem there is that many would see it as a Batman wannabe.
  7. Favourite TV show at the moment? Doctor Who.
  8. What would be your dream job? Being the showrunner of a series based on some of my fictions.
  9. What do you like to do on your down time? (Keep it clean!) I tend to go to live music if there is any on, otherwise it is reading a book, going to the flicks or catching up with my mates in various drinking hostelries over the county. 
  10. If you could meet three celebrities, dead or alive, who would they be and why? Spike Milligan- just to see if was that nuts in real life, Humphrey Bogart- because, well just because,  British Jazz Legend Nat Gonella- I would love to hear first hand some of his anecdotes and how it must have making a living as a Jazzer in 1930s UK when a Jazz Club pretty much was a bunch of guys listening to imported records.
  11. What was your most embarrassing moment? (Ah ha. Thought the questions were a little tame) Regular readers of my blog will know this story, but when I was a student I did Amateur Dramatics and for a murder mystery play I was playing a Jack-the-Lad type and shortly before my character got the chop I was required to do a full frontal nude scene on stage. Unluckily for me in the front row of the audience was the lady who taught me English back in secondary school.

Okay my nominations are:

Yinglang https://yzhengblog.wordpress.com/

gc https://yournibblednews.com/author/gcharb/

Magic Mermaid https://magickmermaid.wordpress.com/author/magickmermaid/

Mark Aldridge https://thegadabouttown.com/author/markaldrich/

Jacqueline Obyikocha https://acookingpotandtwistedtales.com/author/jacquelineobyikocha/

Judy https://judydykstrabrown.com/author/grieflessons/

Elena https://homethatwebuilt.wordpress.com/

P. Bunnykins https://arealmessybeautifultwistedsunshine.wordpress.com/

I know I’m supposed to do 11 but I am a bit pushed for time.

 

My 11 questions

  1. What are the first three things you do in the morning?
  2. Who was your favourite teacher at school?
  3. What is your best physical feature?
  4. What is your view on Tattoos?
  5. Who would you get to write the screenplay of a film based on your life?
  6. What is the most outrageous thing you have done?
  7. Do you smoke?
  8. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?
  9. Sweet or Savoury dessert?
  10. Who was the best James Bond?
  11. What is the last thing you do before you retire of an evening?

 

Thanks

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

